A Little of This…a Little of That

One of my other passions, besides running, is cooking (or baking).  I used to be big on following recipes and, of course, there are still several things I make that I still follow the recipe.  Why mess with delicious?  If I’m baking, it’s pretty much guaranteed that I’m following a recipe!  These days, though, when I’m cooking dinner I often find myself adding a little of this and a little of that.  I have also found myself doing it with a lot of my smoothies and some tasty breakfasts have come out of me just throwing some stuff together.  Do things always work out well with this method?  No.  Rarely have I thrown something out because it’s been too awful to get down though…I don’t like to throw food away!

I wanted to share some of my recipes with you.  Smoothies are a good breakfast or lunch (or a snack if you don’t make them too big).  The rest are all breakfast ideas but that’s when I’m most willing to make myself something mostly healthy and filling because it’s usually after a run and I’m hungry and want to refuel well.  I try to eat healthy throughout the day but breakfast is really important for me and gets me started off right 🙂

Now, keep in mind, “a little of this…a little of that”.  I don’t always measure everything but I will give you a guide and you can play around with things.  I may like things sweeter than you or I might be more keen on a certain fruit or vegetable so I add more than maybe you would like.  Experiment.  You’ll learn what works for you 🙂

Apple Pie Smoothie

Image

  • 1 c almond-coconut milk (Almond Breeze makes this combo and it’s really good…you can use regular milk or milk of choice)
  • 1/3 c Friendship no salt added cottage cheese – This is important!  Even reduced sodium cottage cheese is on the salty side
  • 1 T organic pure maple syrup
  • A few big dashes cinnamon
  • Splash of pure vanilla extract (I make my own)
  • 1/3 c old fashioned oats
  • Handful of kale (or baby spinach)
  • One small apple

Blend it up in your blender (I use a NutriBullet).

 

Banana Berry Oat Smoothie

Image

  • 1 c almond-coconut milk
  • 1/3 c old-fashioned oats
  • 1/3 c Friendship no salt added cottage cheese
  • 1/3 – 1/2 c frozen raspberries
  • small frozen banana (or half med. – large)
  • 1 T (give or take) agave

I tend to use cottage cheese as my protein source in a lot of my smoothies these days.  If I have had a particularly hard workout or long run, though, I will use a scoop of protein powder.

 

Multigrain Waffle with Cottage Cheese and Berries (this isn’t really a recipe…just a yummy breakfast)

Image

  • 1 or 2 multigrain waffles
  • some heaping spoonfuls of cottage cheese
  • fruit of choice
  • some granola if you’d like
  • drizzle of pure maple syrup

 

Overnight Refrigerator Oats

Image

  • 1/4 c old-fashioned oats (not quick)
  • 1/3 c milk of choice (I use Almond Breeze almond-coconut)
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/2 – 1 T agave or pure maple syrup
  • mix-ins

In a resealable jar or other container, mix together the oats and chia seeds. I like to stir these two ingredients before adding others because I find that the chia seeds clump together a lot if I don’t.  At this point, I add in dried goji berries. If you are going to add fresh fruit, wait until you are ready to eat the refrigerator oats before adding (some good ones would be blueberries, banana, strawberries, etc.).  Add in agave or pure maple syrup, milk of choice and stir.  Put the lid on (I like to give it a little shake at this point, too) and place in the fridge overnight…breakfast is ready for you in the morning 🙂  I stir in a big spoonful of almond butter before eating, too.  You may also need to add a little bit of your milk before eating.  There are many recipes for overnight refrigerator oats on Pinterest but I have found that this works best for me.

This is a handful of my faves!  What are some of your favorite healthy recipes?

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Little of This…a Little of That

  1. Thanks for the ideas! I’ve been wanting to try out smoothies but was unsure where to start with them. Also, I’ve never had goji berries before. Are they more sweet or tart? I’m a big breakfast fan, I agree it is the best way to start your day off right!

Leave a Reply

